Rare Earth Mettle

by Al Smith (POSTPONED)

Rare Earth Mettle Top / Details / The Company
Thu 02 Apr - Sat 25 Apr £12 - £49

Important information: We are in unprecedented times and have taken the difficult decision to postpone Rare Earth Mettle. More info 

“You don’t tell an American to turn off their light; you build them a better light bulb.”

A leading British doctor with a radical plan to save the NHS and a Silicon Valley billionaire with a radical plan to halt climate change, meet outside an abandoned train on a salt flat in Bolivia.

A landscape so bright in its whiteness that it isn’t easy to look at, and so uninterrupted in its flatness there’s no echo.

For Kimsa and his daughter who live there, the arrival of these strangers initially seems like an opportunity. Until they both stake their claim on the land, each following their ruthless pursuit of ‘the greater good’.

Al Smith’s epic new play is a brutally comic exploration of risk, delusion, and power.

“You only have an attachment to ideas. But I am attached to this place. I know the history. This land is a part of who I am”.

Al Smith returns to the Royal Court following Harrogate, for which he was nominated Most Promising Playwright (Evening Standard Theatre Awards). He is a graduate of the Royal Court Young Writers Programme. Royal Court Associate Director Hamish Pirie directs.

“The beauty of Smith’s occasionally Pinteresque writing is that while it is dark, it is never gratuitously ugly.” The Telegraph

The Big Idea: Post-Show Talk | Tue 21 Apr
An in conversation event with writer Al Smith. This event is free with a ticket to that evening’s performance.

Rare Earth Mettle has been generously supported with a lead gift from Charles Holloway.

Further support has been received from the Cockayne Grant for the Arts, a donor advised fund of The London Community Foundation.

This play is a recipient of an Edgerton Foundation New Play Award.

Cockayne-logo

LCF-logo

Original images by Chris Staring and Leonardo Rossatti.

Jerwood Theatre Downstairs

Mon – Sat: 7.30pm (except 8 Apr 7pm)

Thu & Sat mats: 2.30pm (from 11 Apr)

Captioned: Wed 22 Apr 7.30pm

Audio Described: Sat 25 Apr 2.30pm (touch tour 1pm)

Relaxed Environment: Sat 18 Apr, 2.30pm

Running time: TBC

Ways to Save

General ticket information

Emotive content for productions

The Company

Close

Choose a date

- Concessions First look Preview Press Night Matinee Captioned Audio-described Show all

Thu 2 Apr 7.30pm

-

Fri 3 Apr 7.30pm

-

Sat 4 Apr 7.30pm

-

Mon 6 Apr 7.30pm

All seats for this performance are £12 and will be released online at 9am on the day of the show.

Tue 7 Apr 7.30pm

-

Wed 8 Apr 7.00pm

Thu 9 Apr 7.30pm

Fri 10 Apr 7.30pm

Sat 11 Apr 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm.

-

Sat 11 Apr 7.30pm

Tue 14 Apr 7.30pm

Wed 15 Apr 7.30pm

Thu 16 Apr 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm.

-

Thu 16 Apr 7.30pm

Fri 17 Apr 7.30pm

Sat 18 Apr 2.30pm

This performance will be presented in a relaxed environment. More information can be found at royalcourttheatre.com/performance-relaxed-environment/

-

Sat 18 Apr 7.30pm

Mon 20 Apr 7.30pm

All seats for this performance are £12 and will be released online at 9am on the day of the show.

Tue 21 Apr 7.30pm

Wed 22 Apr 7.30pm

This performance will be captioned for customers that are deaf or hard of hearing.

Thu 23 Apr 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm.

-

Thu 23 Apr 7.30pm

Fri 24 Apr 7.30pm

Sat 25 Apr 2.30pm

This performance will be audio described for customers that are blind or partially sighted. There will be a touch tour at 1pm.

-

Sat 25 Apr 7.30pm