Cast Announced for Living Newspaper Edition 7: The Last Word

Published on Tue 20 Apr 2021

The cast for Edition 7 include Kemi Awoderu, Sam Crerar, Vinnie Heaven, Tyrone Huntley, Tyreke Leslie, Jemima Mayala, Frances Mayli McCann, Luke Newberry and Yasemin Ozdemir.

Living Newspaper, the weekly project led by more than 60 writers and over 200 freelancers, was paused at the end of 2020 following the first two Editions due to the national lockdown. The project continued on Monday 29 March 2021. Each Edition launches with a live streamed performance of The Front Page, and then is available to watch for two weeks. Edition 7 is the final Edition of Living Newspaper.

Edition 7: The Last Word is written by a group of writers aged 14-21 who have been working together online since June 2020. This final edition of Living Newspaper explores the fear and anticipation of 21 June, a world where the stars talk in Morse code, the difference between people online and IRL, the effects of class on love, and what it means to say goodbye to those friends you only have for the summer.

What does it mean to count your life in years and lose one? What happens when you reemerge into the ‘real’ world and find there are still fights to be won?

This is the time to listen to writers who haven’t been heard before.

Edition 7 is written by Blessing Adetunji, Fatima Kazmi, Tyreke Leslie, Naomi Lundie-Smith, Sam Pickering, Taichi Shinokubo and Ruby Stokes.

Living Newspaper is designed by Shankho Chaudhuri, Debbie Duru, Cara Evans, Sandra Falase, Zoë Hurwitz and Chloe Lamford who have been working as a Design Collective since mid 2020. Together they have radically imagined the Royal Court’s spaces for the project. Each edition is overseen by one of the Design Collective, with Shankho Chaudhuri and Zoë Hurwitz leading on Edition 7.

The lighting designer for Edition 7 is Jessica Hung Han Yun, the composer is Renell Shaw, the sound designers are Helen Atkinson and Tony Gayle, and the movement director is Yami Löfvenberg.

Facilitators for Edition 7 include Vicky Featherstone, Jasmyn Fisher-Ryner, Romana Flello, Ellie Fulcher, Ellie Horne, Ola Ince, Myah Jeffers, Philip Morris, Hamish Pirie and Vishni Velada-Billson.

Edition 7 will be released from Monday 26 April 2021 with a live streamed performance of The Front Page at 5.30pm, and will then be available to watch for two weeks until Sunday 9 May 2021.

For the full press release, click here.