A History of Water in the Middle East

by Sabrina Mahfouz

A History of Water in the Middle East Top / Details / The Company
Thu 10 Oct - Sat 16 Nov £15 - £25 Book Now Limited Availability

British Egyptian Sabrina Mahfouz grew up with ambitions of being a spy. She has two passports, speaks two languages and has a cultural understanding of two very different countries. But when it came to applying for MI6, it turned out she wasn’t quite British enough.

So now she’s on her own intelligence mission – to explore who really holds the power in and over the Middle East. In a world long obsessed with access to oil, will water soon become the natural resource that dictates control, or has it been all along?

Directed by Stef O’Driscoll, the production journeys across twelve different countries using theatre, poetry and music to share stories of women across the region. From the British Imperialist ownership of natural resources, to the environmental urgency of the present, water has shaped lives, policies and fortunes – and it will shape all of our futures.

Writer Sabrina Mahfouz has been called ‘Theatrical dynamite’ by The Independent and ‘[one of] our most interesting playwrights’ by Lyn Gardner in The Guardian.

The Big Idea: Post-show Talk | Tue 22 Oct
A Q&A event with writer Sabrina Mahfouz. This event is free with a ticket to that evening’s performance.

Jerwood Theatre Upstairs

Mon – Sat: 7.45pm (except 14 Oct 7pm)
Thu & Sat mats: 3pm (from 17 Oct)

Captioned: Fri 25 Oct, 1, 8 & 15 Nov 7.45pm

Relaxed Environment: Sat 9 Nov 3pm

Running time: TBC

Ways to Save

General ticket information

Emotive content for productions

The Company

Close

Choose a date

- Concessions First look Press Night Matinee Captioned Show all

Thu 10 Oct 7.45pm

-

Fri 11 Oct 7.45pm

-

Sat 12 Oct 7.45pm

-

Mon 14 Oct 7.00pm

Tue 15 Oct 7.45pm

Wed 16 Oct 7.45pm

Thu 17 Oct 3.00pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 3pm.

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 17 Oct 7.45pm

Fri 18 Oct 7.45pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 19 Oct 3.00pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 3pm.

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 19 Oct 7.45pm

Mon 21 Oct 7.45pm

All seats for this performance are £12 and will be released online at 9am on the day of the show.

Tue 22 Oct 7.45pm

The Big Idea: post-show in conversation with Sabrina Mahfouz

Wed 23 Oct 7.45pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 24 Oct 3.00pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 3pm.

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 24 Oct 7.45pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 25 Oct 7.45pm

This performance will be captioned for customers that are deaf or hard of hearing.

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 26 Oct 3.00pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 3pm.

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 26 Oct 7.45pm

Mon 28 Oct 7.45pm

All seats for this performance are £12 and will be released online at 9am on the day of the show.

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 29 Oct 7.45pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 30 Oct 7.45pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 31 Oct 3.00pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 3pm.

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 31 Oct 7.45pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 1 Nov 7.45pm

This performance will be captioned for customers that are deaf or hard of hearing.

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 2 Nov 3.00pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 3pm.

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 2 Nov 7.45pm

Mon 4 Nov 7.45pm

All seats for this performance are £12 and will be released online at 9am on the day of the show.

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 5 Nov 7.45pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 6 Nov 7.45pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 7 Nov 3.00pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 3pm.

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 7 Nov 7.45pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 8 Nov 7.45pm

This performance will be captioned for customers that are deaf or hard of hearing.

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 9 Nov 3.00pm

This performance will be presented in a relaxed environment. More information can be found at royalcourttheatre.com/performance-relaxed-environment/

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 9 Nov 7.45pm

Mon 11 Nov 7.45pm

All seats for this performance are £12 and will be released online at 9am on the day of the show.

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 12 Nov 7.45pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 13 Nov 7.45pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 14 Nov 3.00pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 3pm.

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 14 Nov 7.45pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 15 Nov 7.45pm

This performance will be captioned for customers that are deaf or hard of hearing.

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 16 Nov 3.00pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 3pm.

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 16 Nov 7.45pm