An Eclipse Theatre Company and Royal Exchange Theatre co-production

Black Men Walking

By Testament

Black Men Walking Top / Details / Extras / The Company
Wed 21 Mar - Sat 07 Apr / From £12 £12 Monday

£12 Monday tickets will go onsale online at 9am on Mon 26 Mar. More info here

“We walk. Though we are written into the landscape you don’t see us. We walked England before the English.”

Thomas, Matthew and Richard walk.

They walk the first Saturday of every month. Walking and talking. But this walk…

Maybe they should have cancelled, but they needed the walk today. Out in the Peaks, they find themselves forced to walk backwards through two thousand years before they can move forwards.

Dedicated to the Black Men’s Walking Group.

Black Men Walking is directed by Eclipse Theatre’s Artistic Director Dawn Walton and is part of Revolution Mix. Taking more than 500 years of Black British history as a starting point, the ‘Revolution Mix’ writers are creating and producing an ambitious body of work which will enrich the canon of British theatre with untold British stories.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

“An important, political, poignant work… Dismantles stereotypes and proudly presents the complex identities of black British people”

The Stage | Charlotte Maxwell Read full review

★ ★ ★ ★

“As poetic as it is potent”

WhatsOnStage | Matt Trueman Read full review

“Charming and witty, with moments of real humour and pathos”

Manchester Evening News | Jamie Medwell

“Exhilarating and absorbing”

Manchester Theatre Awards | David Cunningham

“An ambitious and thought provoking play that puts race under the spotlight”

Caught in the Act | Kashif Naveed

Show more reviews

Jerwood Theatre Upstairs

Mon – Sat: 7.45pm
Thu & Sat mats: 3pm (from 22 Mar)

Running Time: 80 mins (approx.), with no interval.

Ways to Save

Trigger warnings for productions

Extras

The Company

Close

Choose a date

- Concessions Preview Matinee Captioned Show all

Sold Out

Wed 21 Mar 7.45pm

-

Sold Out

Thu 22 Mar 3.00pm

-

Sold Out

Thu 22 Mar 7.45pm

Sold Out

Fri 23 Mar 7.45pm

Sold Out

Sat 24 Mar 3.00pm

-

Sold Out

Sat 24 Mar 7.45pm

Day Seats Available

Mon 26 Mar 7.45pm

Priority Booking

Tue 27 Mar 3.00pm

This performance starts at 3pm

-

Sold Out

Tue 27 Mar 7.45pm

Sold Out

Wed 28 Mar 7.45pm

Sold Out

Thu 29 Mar 3.00pm

-

Sold Out

Thu 29 Mar 7.45pm

Sold Out

Sat 31 Mar 3.00pm

-

Sold Out

Sat 31 Mar 7.45pm

Sold Out

Tue 3 Apr 7.45pm

Sold Out

Wed 4 Apr 7.45pm

Sold Out

Thu 5 Apr 3.00pm

-

Sold Out

Thu 5 Apr 7.45pm

Sold Out

Fri 6 Apr 7.45pm

Captioned Performance

Sold Out

Sat 7 Apr 3.00pm

-

Sold Out

Sat 7 Apr 7.45pm