The critically-acclaimed play returns for three weeks prior to a New York transfer and UK tour

Escaped Alone

by Caryl Churchill

'Magnificent' The Observer

Escaped Alone Top / Details / Extras / The Company
Wed 25 Jan - Sat 11 Feb / From £10 Limited Availability

Following its premiere last year, Caryl Churchill’s critically-acclaimed play returns for three weeks before a run at BAM in New York and UK tour dates in Salford, Bristol and Cambridge.

“I’m walking down the street and there’s a door in the fence open and inside there are three women I’ve seen before.”

Three old friends and a neighbour. A summer of afternoons in the back yard. Tea and catastrophe.

Production supported by Anatol Orient in memory of Ruth Bloomfield.

TOUR DATES

15 – 26 Feb
BAM, New York

7 – 11 March
The Lowry, Salford

14- 18 March
Cambridge Arts Theatre

22 – 26 March
Bristol Old Vic

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

'Caryl Churchill’s magnificent new play unleashes an intricate, elliptical, acutely female view of the apocalypse.
Revolutionary.'

The Observer | Susannah Clapp Read full review

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

'It’s hard to imagine you’ll come across a more brilliant play this year.'

Time Out | Andrzej Lukowski

★ ★ ★ ★

'Linda Bassett, Kika Markham, June Watson and Deborah Findlay deliver pitch-perfect performances.

This is Churchill at her best.'

The Guardian | Michael Billington

★ ★ ★ ★

'It packs a formidable charge.'

Financial Times | Ian Shuttleworth

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

'Caryl Churchill is a phenomenon. She remains not only prolific but also immensely inventive.'

The Arts Desk | Aleks Sierz

★ ★ ★ ★

'James Macdonald directs with his usual alertness, as the trivial keeps giving way to the consequential, and small mercies to huge terrors.'

The Sunday Times | Maxie Szalwinska

'Escaped Alone is magnificent. It has all the qualities that mark [Caryl Churchill] as the greatest living playwright- it’s funny, it’s complicated, and it’s sinister.'

The Huffington Post | Jessie Thompson

★ ★ ★ ★

'Her funniest play to date.'

What’s On Stage | Michael Coveney

Show more reviews

Jerwood Theatre Downstairs

Mon – Sat: 7.30pm
Thu & Sat mats: 3.30pm

Running time: 50 minutes
Age guidance: 14+

Contains pulsating lights

Extras

The Company

Close

Choose a date

- Concessions Matinee Captioned Audio-described Show all

Sold Out

Wed 25th Jan 7.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 26th Jan 7.30pm

Sold Out

Fri 27th Jan 7.30pm

Sold Out

Sat 28th Jan 3.30pm

This is a matinee performance starting at 3:30pm

-

Sold Out

Sat 28th Jan 7.30pm

Day Seats Available

Mon 30th Jan 7.30pm

Sold Out

Tue 31st Jan 7.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 1st Feb 7.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 2nd Feb 3.30pm

This is a matinee performance starting at 3:30pm

-

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 2nd Feb 7.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Fri 3rd Feb 7.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 4th Feb 3.30pm

This is a matinee performance starting at 3:30pm

-

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 4th Feb 7.30pm

Day Seats Available

Mon 6th Feb 7.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Tue 7th Feb 7.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 8th Feb 7.30pm

This performance will be captioned

From £12.00 Book Now

Thu 9th Feb 3.30pm

This is a matinee performance starting at 3:30pm

-

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 9th Feb 7.30pm

From £12.00 Book Now

Fri 10th Feb 7.30pm

From £12.00 Book Now

Sat 11th Feb 3.30pm

This is an audio descibed performance starting at 3:30pm

-

From £12.00 Book Now

Sat 11th Feb 7.30pm