Hole

by Ellie Kendrick

Hole Top / Details / Extras / The Company
Wed 28 Nov - Sat 12 Jan 2019 / £15 - £25 Limited Availability

Every Monday all tickets are £12. These go on sale online at 9am on the day. We also offer a limited number of Young Court Friends £15 tickets for all performances. Young Court Friends is a free membership scheme for Under 26s. Click here to join.

“We’re harpies.
We’re a three headed bitch.
We’ve been guarding the gates.
Now we’re throwing them open.”

A hole in the ground. They’re forcing their way out.
They’re singing. They’re moving. And they’re taking up space.

“This is a take over. We’re taking over.
You came here to look.
We’re giving you something to watch.”

Ellie Kendrick’s debut play asks how power is created and is directed by Helen Goalen and Abbi Greenland (from the award-winning company RASHDASH).

Hole is part of the Royal Court’s Jerwood New Playwrights programme, supported by Jerwood Charitable Foundation.

The Big Idea: Post-show Talk | Tue 11 Dec
Writer Ellie Kendrick and members of the company in conversation with Royal Court Young Agitators. This event is free with a ticket to that evening’s performance.

In Conversation with Ellie Kendrick | Thu 10 Jan, 6.30pm
A free Q&A event with writer Ellie Kendrick in the Samuel French Bookshop in our Balcony Bar.

Insight Workshops
Led by Hole writer Ellie Kendrick. Ellie took part in the Young Writers’ Programme, and an invitational group led by E.V. Crowe in 2016, during which this play was written.

Young Court Friends* aged 16-18 | Wed 12 Dec, 6pm-7.30pm | To sign up, please email [email protected]
Young Court Friends* aged 19-25 | Thu 13 Dec, 6pm-7.30pm | Book Now
Ages 26+ | Fri 14 Dec, 6pm-7.30pm | Book Now

To become a Young Court Friend for free, click here.

"Inventively staged and vigorously performed by its six-strong cast"

The Guardian | Michael Billington

"Rubyyy Jones is mesmeric"

The Telegraph | Claire Allfree

"Powered by a terrific group of female performers"

Time Out | Andrzej Lukowski

"A ferocious debut of piercing beauty and delicious wit"

The Stage | Sam Marlowe

"The play's anger is palpable but it's also empowering and entertaining"

WhatsOnStage | Jo Caird

"Shockingly powerful, menacing and occasionally disturbing"

The Arts Desk | Aleks Sierz

"A bold, provocative and impressive debut from Ellie Kendrick"

Britishtheatre.com | Mark Ludmon

Show more reviews

Jerwood Theatre Upstairs

Mon – Sat: 7.45pm (except 4 Dec 7pm)

Captioned: Wed 2 Jan 7.45pm

Running time: approx. 65 mins (with no interval)

No re-admission.

Age Guidance: 14+

Ways to Save

General ticket information

The show contains strobe lighting.

Emotive content: We generally avoid giving too much away about new plays at the Royal Court. However if there are certain themes that you know would cause you distress and you’d like to speak to one of the Royal Court team to find out more about Hole before you attend, you can call the Box Office on 020 7565 5000 or email us on [email protected].

Extras

The Company

Supported by

Close

Choose a date

First look- Concessions Preview Press Night Matinee Captioned Show all

Book Now

Sat 15 Dec 3.00pm

-

£15 - £25 Book Now

Sat 15 Dec 7.45pm

Book Now

Mon 17 Dec 7.45pm

All seats for this performance are £12 and will be released online at 9am on the day of the show.

Book Now

Tue 18 Dec 7.45pm

Book Now

Wed 19 Dec 7.45pm

Book Now

Thu 20 Dec 3.00pm

-

£15 - £25 Book Now

Thu 20 Dec 7.45pm

£15 - £25 Book Now

Fri 21 Dec 7.45pm

Book Now

Sat 22 Dec 3.00pm

This performance is a matinee starting at 3pm

-

£15 - £25 Book Now

Sat 22 Dec 7.45pm

Book Now

Thu 27 Dec 3.00pm

£15 - £25 Book Now

Thu 27 Dec 7.45pm

£15 - £25 Book Now

Fri 28 Dec 7.45pm

Book Now

Sat 29 Dec 3.00pm

-

£15 - £25 Book Now

Sat 29 Dec 7.45pm

£15 - £25 Book Now

Wed 2 Jan 7.45pm

This performance is accessible for deaf, deafened and hard of hearing people

Book Now

Thu 3 Jan 3.00pm

-

£15 - £25 Book Now

Thu 3 Jan 7.45pm

£15 - £25 Book Now

Fri 4 Jan 7.45pm

Book Now

Sat 5 Jan 3.00pm

-

Book Now

Sat 5 Jan 7.45pm

Book Now

Mon 7 Jan 7.45pm

All seats for this performance are £12 and will be released online at 9am on the day of the show.

Book Now

Tue 8 Jan 7.45pm

Book Now

Wed 9 Jan 7.45pm

Book Now

Thu 10 Jan 3.00pm

-

Book Now

Thu 10 Jan 7.45pm

Book Now

Fri 11 Jan 7.45pm

£15 - £25 Book Now

Sat 12 Jan 7.45pm