Royal Court Theatre in association with Brian & Dayna Lee, Stephanie Kramer & Nicole Kramer and Robyn Goodman & Josh Fiedler presents

Giant

By Mark Rosenblatt

Giant Top / Details / The Company
Fri 20 Sep - Sat 16 Nov £15 - £58 Book Now

“I wanted to put you bang in the picture. Apprise you of the difficulties. Because, in case you hadn’t noticed, he’s a human fucking boobytrap. And now, guess what, surprise surprise, boom!”

A world-famous children’s author under threat. A battle of wills in the wake of scandal. And one chance to make amends…  

It’s the summer of 1983, The Witches is about to hit the shelves and Roald Dahl is making last-minute edits.  But the outcry at his recent, explicitly antisemitic article won’t die down. 

Across a single afternoon at his family home, and rocked by an unexpectedly explosive confrontation, Dahl is forced to choose: make a public apology or risk his name and reputation. 

Inspired by real events, Mark Rosenblatt’s debut play explores with dark humour the difference between considered opinion and dangerous rhetoric.

Directed by Nicholas Hytner (Straight Line Crazy, La Belle Sauvage) and starring Tony and Golden Globe-winner John Lithgow (Killers of the Flower Moon, The Crown), alongside Olivier Award-winner Elliot Levey (Cold War, Cabaret, Good), Giant offers a complicated portrait of a fiendishly charismatic icon.

Originally developed with London Theatre Company.

Giant is generously supported by a lead gift from Charles Holloway OBE.

Post-show talk Tue 1 Oct

This event is free with a ticket to that evening’s performance.

Jerwood Theatre Downstairs

Monday – Friday: 7.30pm

Thursdays (from 3 Oct): 2:30pm and 7:30pm

Saturdays: 1.30pm and 6.30pm

Read full details about your visit to the Royal Court

Ways to Save

Access Performances

Captioned: Sat 2 Nov, 1.30pm and Wed 6 Nov, 7.30pm

Relaxed Environment: Fri 2 Nov, 1.30pm

Audio Described: Sat 9 Nov, 1.30pm

BSL interpreted: Sat 9 Nov, 6.30pm

Access information

General ticket information

The Company

Close

Choose a date

- Concessions Matinee Audio-described Show all

Fri 20 Sep 7.30pm

Preview

-

Sat 21 Sep 6.30pm

Preview

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 23 Sep 7.30pm

Preview

Tue 24 Sep 7.30pm

Preview

Wed 25 Sep 7.30pm

Preview

Thu 26 Sep 7.00pm

Press Night

Fri 27 Sep 7.30pm

-

Sat 28 Sep 6.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 30 Sep 7.30pm

Tue 1 Oct 7.30pm

Post-Show Talk

Wed 2 Oct 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 3 Oct 2.30pm

-

Thu 3 Oct 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 4 Oct 7.30pm

-

Sat 5 Oct 1.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 5 Oct 6.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 7 Oct 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 8 Oct 7.30pm

Wed 9 Oct 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 10 Oct 2.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 10 Oct 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 11 Oct 7.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 12 Oct 1.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 12 Oct 6.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 14 Oct 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 15 Oct 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 16 Oct 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 17 Oct 2.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 17 Oct 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 18 Oct 7.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 19 Oct 1.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 19 Oct 6.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 21 Oct 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 22 Oct 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 23 Oct 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 24 Oct 2.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 24 Oct 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 25 Oct 7.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 26 Oct 1.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 26 Oct 6.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 28 Oct 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 29 Oct 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 30 Oct 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 31 Oct 2.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 31 Oct 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 1 Nov 7.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 2 Nov 1.30pm

This performance will be Captioned & have a Relaxed Environment.

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 2 Nov 6.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 4 Nov 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 5 Nov 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 6 Nov 7.30pm

This performance will be Captioned.

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 7 Nov 2.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 7 Nov 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 8 Nov 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 9 Nov 1.30pm

This performance will be Audio-Described.

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 9 Nov 6.30pm

This performance will be BSL Interpreted.

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 11 Nov 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 12 Nov 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 13 Nov 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 14 Nov 2.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 14 Nov 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 15 Nov 7.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 16 Nov 1.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 16 Nov 6.30pm