The Woods

by Robert Alan Evans

The Woods Top / Details / Extras / The Company
Wed 05 Sep - Sat 20 Oct / From £12 Book Now

On Mondays all tickets are £12 and are released online at 9am on the day. Find out more here.

“Why you always got to dig things up?”

A cabin deep in the woods.
A lost boy buried in the snow.
A lone woman.
And her wolf.

“You think you could keep him?
You know where that ends up.
Don’t you.
You no good with kids.”

The Woods sees Robert Alan Evans return to the Royal Court with this new play directed by Lucy Morrison. Lucy’s previous work for the Royal Court includes Plaques & Tangles, Live Lunch, Who Cares, and Pests.

The Big Idea: Robert Alan Evans in Conversation
Tue 18 Sep, post-show
Writer Robert Alan Evans will be in conversation with Royal Court Young Agitators. The event is free with a ticket to that evening’s performance.

Insight Workshop: The Woods
Led by Robert Alan Evans, writer of The Woods, and Lucy Morrison, Royal Court Associate Director and director of The Woods. The workshops will explore the form of the fairytale, looking at why fairytales endure and how they can be used as theatrical devices.

Young Court Friends* ages 16-25 years | Thu 20 Sep, 6pm-7.30pm
Ages 26+ | Thu 4 Oct, 6pm-7.30pm | Book Now

*To become a Young Court Friend for free, click here.

★ ★ ★ ★

“Lesley Sharp gives a stunning performance in this chokingly intense gothic.”

Time Out | Holly Williams Read full review

★ ★ ★ ★

"It draws us into a dark world with careful sympathy and imagination."

Financial Times l Sarah Hemming Read full review

★ ★ ★ ★

“A blazingly acted and triumphantly imagined piece of new writing.”

The Arts Desk | Aleks Sierz Read full review

“Lesley Sharp gives a compelling performance.”

Evening Standard | Fiona Mountford

“Harrowing and hallucinatory… A remarkable production from director Lucy Morrison & designer Naomi Dawson.”

The Stage | Fergus Morgan

Show more reviews

Jerwood Theatre Upstairs

Mon – Sat: 7.45pm (except 11 Sep 7pm)
Thu & Sat mats: 3pm (from 13 Sep)

Captioned: Fri 5 Oct 7.45pm
Audio Described: Sat 13 Oct 3pm (Touch tour 1.30pm)

Running time: approx. 85mins (with no interval)

Ways to Save

General ticket information

Trigger warnings for productions

Age Guidance: 14+

Extras

The Company

Close

Choose a date

- Concessions First look Preview Press Night Matinee Captioned Audio-described Show all

From £25.00 Limited Availability

Tue 25 Sep 7.45pm

Sold Out

Wed 26 Sep 7.45pm

Sold Out

Thu 27 Sep 3.00pm

-

Sold Out

Thu 27 Sep 7.45pm

From £15.00 Limited Availability

Fri 28 Sep 7.45pm

Sold Out

Sat 29 Sep 3.00pm

-

From £15.00 Limited Availability

Sat 29 Sep 7.45pm

Day Seats Available

Mon 1 Oct 7.45pm

Sold Out

Tue 2 Oct 7.45pm

Sold Out

Wed 3 Oct 7.45pm

Sold Out

Thu 4 Oct 3.00pm

-

Sold Out

Thu 4 Oct 7.45pm

Sold Out

Fri 5 Oct 7.45pm

This performance is accessible for deaf, deafened and hard of hearing people

Sold Out

Sat 6 Oct 3.00pm

-

From £15.00 Limited Availability

Sat 6 Oct 7.45pm

Day Seats Available

Mon 8 Oct 7.45pm

Sold Out

Tue 9 Oct 7.45pm

Sold Out

Wed 10 Oct 7.45pm

Sold Out

Thu 11 Oct 3.00pm

-

Sold Out

Thu 11 Oct 7.45pm

Sold Out

Fri 12 Oct 7.45pm

Sold Out

Sat 13 Oct 3.00pm

This performance is accessible for blind or partially sighted customers. The touch tour will be at 1.30pm.

-

Sold Out

Sat 13 Oct 7.45pm

Day Seats Available

Mon 15 Oct 7.45pm

From £15.00 Limited Availability

Tue 16 Oct 7.45pm

From £15.00 Limited Availability

Wed 17 Oct 7.45pm

From £15.00 Limited Availability

Thu 18 Oct 3.00pm

This performance is a matinee and will start at 3pm

-

From £15.00 Book Now

Thu 18 Oct 7.45pm

From £15.00 Limited Availability

Fri 19 Oct 7.45pm

From £15.00 Book Now

Sat 20 Oct 3.00pm

This performance is a matinee and will start at 3pm

-

From £15.00 Book Now

Sat 20 Oct 7.45pm