Pity

by Rory Mullarkey

Pity Top / Details / Extras / The Company
Thu 12 Jul - Sat 11 Aug / From £12 Book Now

“Two bombs in one day is a foul coincidence”
“Don’t forget the lightning strike”

A normal day.

A person stands in the market square watching the world go by.

What happens next verges on the ridiculous.

There’s ice cream. Sunshine. Shops. Some dogs. A wedding. Bombs. Candles. Blood. Lightning. Sandwiches. Snipers. Looting. Gunshots. Babies. Actors. Azaleas. Famine. Fountains. Statues. Atrocities.

And tanks. (Probably).

Rory Mullarkey’s new play asks whether things really are getting worse. And if we care.

“[Someone screaming]: AAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH”

Rory returns to the Royal Court following his debut here with The Wolf from the Door in 2014. In the same year, he was awarded the George Devine Award, the Pinter Commission, and the James Tait Black Prize for Drama.

Sam Pritchard’s previous work for the Royal Court includes Grimly Handsome and B.

Insight Workshop: Pity
Led by Sam Pritchard, Royal Court Associate Director and director of Pity.

Young Court Friends* ages 14-18 | Fri 27 Jul, 6pm-7.30pm | Booking opens Fri 13 Jul at noon
Young Court Friends* ages 19-25 | Mon 23 Jul, 6pm-7.30pm | Booking opens Mon 9 Jul at noon
Ages 26+ | Wed 25 Jul, 6pm-7.30pm | Booking opens Wed 11 Jul at noon

*To become a Young Court friend for free, click here.

Jerwood Theatre Downstairs

Mon – Sat: 7.30pm (except 18 Jul 7pm)
Thu & Sat mats: 2.30pm (from 21 Jul)

Captioned: Tue 31 Jul 7.30pm
Audio Described: Sat 4 Aug 2.30pm (Touch tour 1pm)

Running time: TBC

Ways to Save

General ticket information

Trigger warnings for productions

Age Guidance: 14+

Extras

The Company

Close

Choose a date

- Concessions First look Preview Press Night Matinee Captioned Audio-described Show all

From £12.00 Book Now

Thu 12 Jul 7.30pm

-

From £12.00 Book Now

Fri 13 Jul 7.30pm

-

From £12.00 Book Now

Sat 14 Jul 7.30pm

-

From £12.00 Monday

Mon 16 Jul 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Tue 17 Jul 7.30pm

-

Sold Out

Wed 18 Jul 7.00pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Thu 19 Jul 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Fri 20 Jul 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 21 Jul 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 21 Jul 7.30pm

From £12.00 Monday

Mon 23 Jul 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Tue 24 Jul 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Wed 25 Jul 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Thu 26 Jul 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Thu 26 Jul 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Fri 27 Jul 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 28 Jul 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 28 Jul 7.30pm

From £12.00 Monday

Mon 30 Jul 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Tue 31 Jul 7.30pm

This performance is accessible for deaf, deafened and hard of hearing people

From £14.00 Book Now

Wed 1 Aug 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Thu 2 Aug 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Thu 2 Aug 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Fri 3 Aug 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 4 Aug 2.30pm

This performance is accessible for blind or partially sighted customers. The touch tour will be at 1pm.

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 4 Aug 7.30pm

From £12.00 Monday

Mon 6 Aug 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Tue 7 Aug 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Wed 8 Aug 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Thu 9 Aug 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Thu 9 Aug 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Fri 10 Aug 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 11 Aug 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 11 Aug 7.30pm