the end of history...

by Jack Thorne

the end of history... Top / Details / The Company
Thu 27 Jun - Sat 10 Aug £12 - £95 Book Now

“No talent at all when it comes to cooking – as you will discover – but when it comes to pissing off my children – immense talent – Olympian talent.”

Newbury, 1997. Sal is attempting to cook dinner for the family. She and husband David have pulled off a coup and gathered their brood back home for the weekend. Eldest son Carl is bringing his new girlfriend to meet everyone for the first time; middle daughter Polly is back from Cambridge University for the occasion; and youngest Tom will hopefully make it out of detention in time for dinner.

Sal and David would rather feed their kids with leftist ideals and welfarism than fancy cuisine. When you’ve named each of your offspring after your socialist heroes, you’ve given them a lot to live up to…

“When I was your age I wanted to be in a band and sleep with Mick Jagger – and Jimi Hendrix – who am I to judge your choices?”

Writer Jack Thorne and director John Tiffany’s previous collaborations at the Royal Court include Hope and Let the Right One In. Other collaborations include: Harry Potter & the Cursed Child (West End/Broadway). Jack’s other credits include: A Christmas Carol (Old Vic); National Treasure, This Is England ’90 (both earning a BAFTA for Best Mini-Series), Kiri, and The Virtues with Shane Meadows. Royal Court Associate Director John’s other work at the Royal Court includes: Road, The Twits, The Pass.

Support the Court | Thu 18 Jul
Proceeds from the performance will help to support the Royal Court’s ongoing work with writers in the UK and Internationally. More details

The Big Idea: Post-show Talk | Wed 17 Jul
A Q&A event with members of the cast. This event is free with a ticket to that evening’s performance and will be captioned with live speech-to-text.

This play is a recipient of an Edgerton Foundation New Play Award

Jerwood Theatre Downstairs

Mon – Sat: 7.30pm (except 3 Jul 7pm)
Thu & Sat mats: 2.30pm (from 6 Jul)

Captioned: Wed 10, 17 (live speech-to-text post-show talk), 24, 31 Jul & 7 Aug 7.30pm

Audio Described: Sat 3 Aug 2.30pm (Touch tour 1pm)

Relaxed Environment: Sat 27 Jul 2.30pm

Running time: TBC

Ways to Save

General ticket information

Emotive content in productions

The Company

Close

Choose a date

- Concessions First look Preview Press Night Matinee Captioned Audio-described Show all

Thu 27 Jun 7.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 28 Jun 7.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 29 Jun 7.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 1 Jul 7.30pm

All seats for this performance are £12 and will be released online at 9am on the day of the show.

Tue 2 Jul 7.30pm

-

Wed 3 Jul 7.00pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 4 Jul 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 5 Jul 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 6 Jul 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 6 Jul 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 8 Jul 7.30pm

All seats for this performance are £12 and will be released online at 9am on the day of the show.

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 9 Jul 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 10 Jul 7.30pm

This performance will be captioned. Captioning provides people who are deaf or hard of hearing with access to live performances. The seats with the best view are marked with a star.

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 11 Jul 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 11 Jul 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 12 Jul 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 13 Jul 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 13 Jul 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 15 Jul 7.30pm

All seats for this performance are £12 and will be released online at 9am on the day of the show.

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 16 Jul 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 17 Jul 7.30pm

This performance will be captioned. Captioning provides people who are deaf or hard of hearing with access to live performances. The seats with the best view are marked with a star.

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 18 Jul 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 18 Jul 7.30pm

Support the Court Night. Support the Court tickets include a complimentary glass of Prosecco on arrival, playtext and limited edition Royal Court tote bag.

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 19 Jul 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 20 Jul 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 20 Jul 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 22 Jul 7.30pm

All seats for this performance are £12 and will be released online at 9am on the day of the show.

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 23 Jul 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 24 Jul 7.30pm

This performance will be captioned. Captioning provides people who are deaf or hard of hearing with access to live performances. The seats with the best view are marked with a star.

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 25 Jul 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 25 Jul 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 26 Jul 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 27 Jul 2.30pm

This performance will be presented in a relaxed environment. More information can be found at royalcourttheatre.com/performance-relaxed-environment/

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 27 Jul 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 29 Jul 7.30pm

All seats for this performance are £12 and will be released online at 9am on the day of the show.

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 30 Jul 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 31 Jul 7.30pm

This performance will be captioned. Captioning provides people who are deaf or hard of hearing with access to live performances. The seats with the best view are marked with a star.

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 1 Aug 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 1 Aug 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 2 Aug 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 3 Aug 2.30pm

This performance is accessible for blind or partially sighted customers. The touch tour will be at 1pm.

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 3 Aug 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 5 Aug 7.30pm

All seats for this performance are £12 and will be released online at 9am on the day of the show.

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 6 Aug 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 7 Aug 7.30pm

This performance will be captioned. Captioning provides people who are deaf or hard of hearing with access to live performances. The seats with the best view are marked with a star.

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 8 Aug 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 8 Aug 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 9 Aug 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 10 Aug 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 10 Aug 7.30pm