Sonia Friedman Productions, Neal Street Productions and Royal Court Theatre Productions present

The Ferryman (West End)

Jez Butterworth

The Ferryman (West End) Top / Details / Extras / The Company
Tue 20 Jun - Sat 06 Jan 2018 / From £12 Book Now

Due to overwhelming demand  The Ferryman, written by Jez Butterworth and directed by Sam Mendes, is now booking until 6 Jan 2018. Book via the Royal Court Theatre with no booking fee.

Please note that West End performances of The Ferryman take place at the Gielgud Theatre. Evening shows begin at 7pm, matinees at 1:30pm.

“Vanishing. It’s a powerful word, that. A powerful word.”

Northern Ireland, 1981. The Carney farmhouse is a hive of activity with preparations for the annual harvest.  A day of hard work on the land and a traditional night of feasting and celebrations lie ahead. But this year they will be interrupted by a visitor.

“You can’t bury the past.”

Jez Butterworth‘s previous work at the Royal Court includes The River and the multi-award winning Jerusalem. Director Sam Mendes makes his Royal Court debut.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

‘Butterworth and Mendes deliver shattering tale of passion and violence’

Michael Billington l The Guardian Read full review

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

‘Miss this and you’ve missed a marvel’

Dominic Cavendish l The Telegraph Read full review

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

‘A shattering feast of intricate storytelling’

Henry Hitchings l Evening Standard Read full review

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

'It’s a stunning piece of writing: teeming with life; haunted by death.'

Sarah Hemming l Financial Times Read full review

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

‘It is something special’

Ann Treneman l The Times Read full review

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

'A triumphant, bold piece of theatre'

Sarah Crompton l Whats On Stage Read full review

'It's easily the best new play of the year.'

Claire Allfree | Metro

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

'Shattering'

Quentin Letts | Daily Mail

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

‘Magic runs through Butterworth’s brilliant new play'

Susannah Clapp | The Observer Read full review

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

'Play of the year'

Georgina Brown | Mail on Sunday

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

'An exquisitely detailed production.'

Michael Arditti | Sunday Express

Show more reviews

Gielgud Theatre

Shaftesbury Avenue
Soho
London W1D 6AR.

No booking fee.

Mon – Sat: 7.00pm
Wed & Sat mats: 1.30pm

Running time: Approx. 3hrs plus 15 min interval and a few mins pause between Acts Two and Three
Age guidance: 14+
Contains strong language

Extras

The Company

Close

Choose a date

Press Night Show all

Sold Out

Thu 27 Jul 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Fri 28 Jul 7.00pm

Sold Out

Sat 29 Jul 1.30pm

Sold Out

Sat 29 Jul 7.00pm

Sold Out

Mon 31 Jul 7.00pm

Sold Out

Tue 1 Aug 7.00pm

Sold Out

Wed 2 Aug 1.30pm

Sold Out

Wed 2 Aug 7.00pm

Sold Out

Thu 3 Aug 7.00pm

Sold Out

Fri 4 Aug 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 5 Aug 1.30pm

Sold Out

Sat 5 Aug 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Mon 7 Aug 7.00pm

Sold Out

Tue 8 Aug 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 9 Aug 1.30pm

Sold Out

Wed 9 Aug 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 10 Aug 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Fri 11 Aug 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 12 Aug 1.30pm

Sold Out

Sat 12 Aug 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Mon 14 Aug 7.00pm

Sold Out

Tue 15 Aug 7.00pm

Sold Out

Wed 16 Aug 1.30pm

Sold Out

Wed 16 Aug 7.00pm

Sold Out

Thu 17 Aug 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Fri 18 Aug 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 19 Aug 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 19 Aug 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Mon 21 Aug 7.00pm

Sold Out

Tue 22 Aug 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 23 Aug 1.30pm

Sold Out

Wed 23 Aug 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 24 Aug 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Fri 25 Aug 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 26 Aug 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 26 Aug 7.00pm

Sold Out

Mon 28 Aug 7.00pm

Sold Out

Tue 29 Aug 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 30 Aug 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 30 Aug 7.00pm

Sold Out

Thu 31 Aug 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Fri 1 Sep 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 2 Sep 1.30pm

Sold Out

Sat 2 Sep 7.00pm

Sold Out

Mon 4 Sep 7.00pm

Sold Out

Tue 5 Sep 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 6 Sep 1.30pm

Sold Out

Wed 6 Sep 7.00pm

Sold Out

Thu 7 Sep 7.00pm

Sold Out

Fri 8 Sep 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 9 Sep 1.30pm

Sold Out

Sat 9 Sep 7.00pm

Sold Out

Mon 11 Sep 7.00pm

Sold Out

Tue 12 Sep 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 13 Sep 1.30pm

Sold Out

Wed 13 Sep 7.00pm

Sold Out

Thu 14 Sep 7.00pm

Sold Out

Fri 15 Sep 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 16 Sep 1.30pm

Sold Out

Sat 16 Sep 7.00pm

Sold Out

Mon 18 Sep 7.00pm

Sold Out

Tue 19 Sep 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 20 Sep 1.30pm

Sold Out

Wed 20 Sep 7.00pm

Sold Out

Thu 21 Sep 7.00pm

Sold Out

Fri 22 Sep 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 23 Sep 1.30pm

Sold Out

Sat 23 Sep 7.00pm

Sold Out

Mon 25 Sep 7.00pm

Sold Out

Tue 26 Sep 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 27 Sep 1.30pm

Sold Out

Wed 27 Sep 7.00pm

Sold Out

Thu 28 Sep 7.00pm

Sold Out

Fri 29 Sep 7.00pm

Sold Out

Sat 30 Sep 1.30pm

Sold Out

Sat 30 Sep 7.00pm

Sold Out

Mon 2 Oct 7.00pm

Sold Out

Tue 3 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 4 Oct 1.30pm

Sold Out

Wed 4 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 5 Oct 7.00pm

Sold Out

Fri 6 Oct 7.00pm

Sold Out

Sat 7 Oct 1.30pm

Sold Out

Sat 7 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Mon 9 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Tue 10 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 11 Oct 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 11 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 12 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Fri 13 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 14 Oct 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 14 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Mon 16 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Tue 17 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 18 Oct 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 18 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 19 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Fri 20 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 21 Oct 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 21 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Mon 23 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Tue 24 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 25 Oct 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 25 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 26 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Fri 27 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 28 Oct 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 28 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Mon 30 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Tue 31 Oct 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 1 Nov 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 1 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 2 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Fri 3 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 4 Nov 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 4 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Mon 6 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Tue 7 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 8 Nov 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 8 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 9 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Fri 10 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 11 Nov 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 11 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Mon 13 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Tue 14 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 15 Nov 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 15 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 16 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Fri 17 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 18 Nov 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 18 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Mon 20 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Tue 21 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 22 Nov 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 22 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 23 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Fri 24 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 25 Nov 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 25 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Mon 27 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Tue 28 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 29 Nov 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 29 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 30 Nov 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Fri 1 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 2 Dec 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 2 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Mon 4 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Tue 5 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 6 Dec 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 6 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 7 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Fri 8 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 9 Dec 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 9 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Mon 11 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Tue 12 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 13 Dec 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 13 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 14 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Fri 15 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 16 Dec 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 16 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Mon 18 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Tue 19 Dec 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Tue 19 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 20 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 21 Dec 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 21 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Fri 22 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 23 Dec 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 23 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 27 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 28 Dec 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 28 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Fri 29 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 30 Dec 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 30 Dec 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Mon 1 Jan 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Tue 2 Jan 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 3 Jan 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Wed 3 Jan 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Thu 4 Jan 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Fri 5 Jan 7.00pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 6 Jan 1.30pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Sat 6 Jan 7.00pm