bodies

By Vivienne Franzmann

bodies Top / Details / Extras / The Company
Wed 05 Jul - Sat 12 Aug / From £12 Book Now

“We should have brought a gift.”

“We’ve brought a gift. It’s called 22 thousand pounds.”

Purchased from Russia. Developed in India. Delivered to the UK.

A global transaction over nine months that offers ‘a lifetime of happiness’ for all involved.

Vivienne Franzmann’s new play explores the human cost of surrogacy, and what we’ll overlook to get what we want.

“As soon as we have our little girl, everything will make sense. As soon as you hold her in your arms, it will all make sense.”

Vivienne Franzmann’s previous work at the Royal Court includes Pests and The Witness. Bodies will be directed by Jude Christian who made her Royal Court debut with Lela & Co in 2015.

★ ★ ★ ★

'Challenging study of family fraught over surrogacy'

Henry Hitchings | Evening Standard Read full review

★ ★ ★ ★

'An engrossing allegory for the modern age, where we consume things at the click of a button'

Emily Jupp | WhatsOnStage Read full review

★ ★ ★ ★

'A play that brims with powerful emotions and interesting ideas

Aleks Sierz | The Arts Desk Read full review

★ ★ ★ ★

'Immensely powerful'

Paul Taylor | The Independent Read full review

Show more reviews

Jerwood Theatre Upstairs

Mon – Sat: 7.45pm
Thu & Sat mats: 3pm

Running time: 1 hour 40 mins without interval
Age guidance: 14+
Trigger warnings for productions

Extras

The Company

Close

Choose a date

- Concessions First look Preview Press Night Matinee Captioned Show all

From £15.00 Limited Availability

Thu 27 Jul 3.00pm

-

Sold Out

Thu 27 Jul 7.45pm

From £25.00 Limited Availability

Fri 28 Jul 7.45pm

From £15.00 Limited Availability

Sat 29 Jul 3.00pm

-

From £25.00 Limited Availability

Sat 29 Jul 7.45pm

From £12.00 Limited Availability

Mon 31 Jul 7.45pm

From £25.00 Limited Availability

Tue 1 Aug 7.45pm

From £25.00 Limited Availability

Wed 2 Aug 7.45pm

From £15.00 Limited Availability

Thu 3 Aug 3.00pm

-

From £25.00 Book Now

Thu 3 Aug 7.45pm

From £25.00 Book Now

Fri 4 Aug 7.45pm

From £15.00 Book Now

Sat 5 Aug 3.00pm

-

From £25.00 Book Now

Sat 5 Aug 7.45pm

Day Seats Available

Mon 7 Aug 7.45pm

From £25.00 Limited Availability

Tue 8 Aug 7.45pm

Sold Out

Wed 9 Aug 7.45pm

From £15.00 Book Now

Thu 10 Aug 3.00pm

-

From £25.00 Book Now

Thu 10 Aug 7.45pm

From £25.00 Book Now

Fri 11 Aug 7.45pm

From £15.00 Book Now

Sat 12 Aug 3.00pm

-

From £25.00 Book Now

Sat 12 Aug 7.45pm