National Theatre Wales and Royal Court Theatre

On Bear Ridge

by Ed Thomas

On Bear Ridge Top / Details / The Company
Thu 24 Oct - Sat 23 Nov £12 - £95 Book Now

Just announced: Rakie Ayola, Jason Hughes, Rhys Ifans and Sion Daniel Young have been cast in On Bear Ridge.

“One minute we had customers, the next minute there was no-one.”

In a lost village, blurred by redrawn borders, hidden under a crumb on the map, Bear Ridge Stores still stands.

After a hundred years, the family butchers and grocers – a place for odds and ends, contraband goods, and the last petrol pump for 30 miles – is now silent.

But owners John Daniel and Noni are not leaving.

They are defiantly drinking the remaining whiskey and remembering good times, when everyone was on the same side and the old language shone.

Outside in the dark, a figure is making their way towards them.

A semi-autobiographical story about the places we leave behind, the indelible marks they make on us, and the unreliable memories we hold onto.

Ed Thomas is an award-winning writer for screen and theatre. He co-created the television drama Hinterland and his plays include House of America and Gas Station Angel, which premiered at the Royal Court. Royal Court Artistic Director Vicky Featherstone and Ed Thomas will co-direct On Bear Ridge.

The Big Idea: Post-show Talk | Tue 5 Nov
A Q&A event with writer Ed Thomas and Artistic Director Vicky Featherstone. This event is free with a ticket to that evening’s performance.

Support the Court | Tue 12 Nov

Proceeds from the performance will help to support the Royal Court’s ongoing work with writers in the UK and Internationally. More details

Jerwood Theatre Downstairs

Mon – Sat: 7.30pm (except 28 Oct 7pm)
Thu & Sat mats: 2.30pm (from 31 Oct)

Captioned: Wed 6, 13, 20 & Fri 22 Nov 7.30pm

Audio Described: Sat 23 Nov 2.30pm (Touch tour 1pm)

Relaxed Environment: Sat 16 Nov 2.30pm

Running time: TBC

Ways to Save

General ticket information

Emotive content for productions

The Company

Close

Choose a date

- Concessions Preview Press Night Matinee Captioned Audio-described Show all

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 24 Oct 7.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 25 Oct 7.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 26 Oct 7.30pm

Mon 28 Oct 7.00pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 29 Oct 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 30 Oct 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 31 Oct 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm.

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 31 Oct 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 1 Nov 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 2 Nov 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm.

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 2 Nov 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 4 Nov 7.30pm

All seats for this performance are £12 and will be released online at 9am on the day of the show.

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 5 Nov 7.30pm

The Big Idea: post-show in conversation with Ed Thomas and Vicky Featherstone

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 6 Nov 7.30pm

This performance will be captioned for customers that are deaf or hard of hearing

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 7 Nov 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm.

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 7 Nov 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 8 Nov 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 9 Nov 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm.

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 9 Nov 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 11 Nov 7.30pm

All seats for this performance are £12 and will be released online at 9am on the day of the show.

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 12 Nov 7.30pm

Support the Court Night. Support the Court tickets include a complimentary glass of Prosecco on arrival, playtext and limited edition Royal Court tote bag.

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 13 Nov 7.30pm

This performance will be captioned for customers that are deaf or hard of hearing

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 14 Nov 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm.

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 14 Nov 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 15 Nov 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 16 Nov 2.30pm

This performance will be presented in a relaxed environment. More information can be found at royalcourttheatre.com/performance-relaxed-environment/

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 16 Nov 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 18 Nov 7.30pm

All seats for this performance are £12 and will be released online at 9am on the day of the show.

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 19 Nov 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 20 Nov 7.30pm

This performance will be captioned for customers that are deaf or hard of hearing

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 21 Nov 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm.

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 21 Nov 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 22 Nov 7.30pm

This performance will be captioned for customers that are deaf or hard of hearing

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 23 Nov 2.30pm

This performance will be audio described for customers that are blind or partially sighted. There will be a touch tour at 1pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 23 Nov 7.30pm