A Royal Court Theatre and Abbey Theatre production

Cyprus Avenue

by David Ireland

Cyprus Avenue Top / Details / The Company
Thu 14 Feb - Sat 23 Mar 2019 / £12 - £49 Book Now

After its original sold-out run at the Royal Court and transfers to The Public Theatre, New York, Dublin’s Abbey Theatre and The MAC Belfast; David Ireland’s black comedy Cyprus Avenue returns for a limited four-week run.

 “Gerry Adams has disguised himself as a new-born baby and successfully infiltrated my family home.”

Eric Miller is a Belfast Loyalist. He believes his five-week old granddaughter is Gerry Adams.

His family keep telling him to stop living in the past and fighting old battles that nobody cares about anymore but his cultural heritage is under siege. He must act.

The story of one man struggling with the past and terrified of the future.

“Without prejudice we’re nothing! If we don’t discriminate, we don’t survive!”

Directed by Royal Court Artistic Director Vicky Featherstone, original cast member Stephen Rea will reprise the role of Eric Miller, for which he won Best Actor at the Irish Times Theatre Awards in 2017.

Cyprus Avenue won Best New Play at the Irish Times Theatre Awards and James Tait Black Prize for Drama in 2017.

The original production of Cyprus Avenue at the Royal Court in 2016 was supported by Cockayne Grants for the Arts, a donor-advised fund of the London Community Foundation.

Abbey Theatre logo

 

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

“David Ireland’s shocking new play balances humour and horror, with Stephen Rea superb”

Susannah Clapp, Observer Read full review

"Mr. Rea is astonishing, in one of the defining performances of his career."

Ben Brantley, New York Times

★ ★ ★ ★

“Stephen Rea is riveting”

Michael Billington, The Guardian Read full review

★ ★ ★ ★

“Lingers in the mind long after its final act. Sharp and engaging.... Unmissable.”

Peter Crawley l The Irish Times Read full review

★ ★ ★ ★

'Compulsive viewing.'

Dominic Cavendish l The Daily Telegraph Read full review

Show more reviews

Jerwood Theatre Downstairs

Mon – Sat: 7.30pm
Sat mats: 2.30pm (from 23 Feb)

Audio Described: Sat 9 Mar, 2.30pm (Touch Tour at 1pm)
Captioned: Tue 12 Mar, 7.30pm

Running time: approx. 1hr 40mins, with no interval

Ways to Save

General ticket information

Trigger warnings for productions

Age Guidance: 14+

The Company

Close

Choose a date

- Concessions Preview Press Night Matinee Audio-described Captioned Show all

£14 - £42 Book Now

Thu 14 Feb 7.30pm

-

£14 - £42 Book Now

Fri 15 Feb 7.30pm

-

Book Now

Sat 16 Feb 7.30pm

-

£12 Book Now

Mon 18 Feb 7.30pm

Tickets go on-sale at 9am on the morning of the performance.

Book Now

Tue 19 Feb 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Wed 20 Feb 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Thu 21 Feb 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Fri 22 Feb 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Sat 23 Feb 2.30pm

-

£14 - £49 Book Now

Sat 23 Feb 7.30pm

£12 Book Now

Mon 25 Feb 7.30pm

Tickets go on-sale at 9am on the morning of the performance.

£14 - £49 Book Now

Tue 26 Feb 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Wed 27 Feb 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Thu 28 Feb 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Fri 1 Mar 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Sat 2 Mar 2.30pm

-

£14 - £49 Book Now

Sat 2 Mar 7.30pm

£12 Book Now

Mon 4 Mar 7.30pm

Tickets go on-sale at 9am on the morning of the performance.

£14 - £49 Book Now

Tue 5 Mar 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Wed 6 Mar 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Thu 7 Mar 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Fri 8 Mar 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Sat 9 Mar 2.30pm

-

£14 - £49 Book Now

Sat 9 Mar 7.30pm

£12 Book Now

Mon 11 Mar 7.30pm

Tickets go on-sale at 9am on the morning of the performance.

£14 - £49 Book Now

Tue 12 Mar 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Wed 13 Mar 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Thu 14 Mar 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Fri 15 Mar 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Sat 16 Mar 2.30pm

-

£14 - £49 Book Now

Sat 16 Mar 7.30pm

£12 Book Now

Mon 18 Mar 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Tue 19 Mar 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Wed 20 Mar 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Thu 21 Mar 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Fri 22 Mar 7.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Sat 23 Mar 2.30pm

£14 - £49 Book Now

Sat 23 Mar 7.30pm