The Glow

By Alistair McDowall

The Glow Top / Details
Fri 21 Jan - Sat 05 Mar 2022 £12 - £45 Book Now

“People find me. When it’s dark.”

An asylum. 

A woman locked in a windowless cell, with no memory as to who she is, or how she arrived there. 

When spiritualist medium Mrs Lyall requires a new assistant, this nameless woman seems the perfect candidate. 

But as the woman’s past begins to reveal itself, so do new powers neither are prepared for. 

“Matter may decay, but the spirit persists. The energy we exude remains.” 

The Glow was the 2018 Pinter Commission, an award given annually by Lady Antonia Fraser to support a new commission at the Royal Court Theatre. 

Alistair McDowall’s previous work at the Royal Court includes all of itX and Talk Show (Open Court). Royal Court Artistic Director Vicky Featherstone directs. 

The Glow has been generously supported with a lead gift from Charles Holloway.

Post-show Talk Tue 8 Feb

A Q&A with writer Alistair McDowall. This event is free with a ticket to that evening’s performance.

"He’s interested only in writing plays that absolutely have to be plays, that fully exploit theatre’s unique potential as a live, collective experience."

The Independent

Jerwood Theatre Downstairs

Mon – Sat: 7:30pm

Thu & Sat matinees: 2:30pm (from 29 Jan)

We’re proud to be See It Safely approved by Official London Theatre, so you can feel confident and safe knowing that staff, artists and audiences are COVID-secure based on the latest government guidelines. For more information ahead of your visit click here.

Access Performances

Captioned: Wed 9, 16, 23 Feb at 7:30pm

Relaxed Environment: Sat 26 Feb at 2:30pm

BSL Interpreted: Wed 2 March at 7:30pm

Audio Described: Sat 5 March at 2:30pm (Touch Tour at 1pm)

General ticket information

Trigger warnings for productions

Image credit: Albert von Schrenck-Notzing

Close

Choose a date

- Concessions First look Preview Press Night Matinee Captioned Audio-described Show all

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 21 Jan 7.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 22 Jan 7.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 24 Jan 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 25 Jan 7.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 26 Jan 7.30pm

-

Thu 27 Jan 7.00pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 28 Jan 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 29 Jan 2.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 29 Jan 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 31 Jan 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 1 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 2 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 3 Feb 2.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 3 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 4 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 5 Feb 2.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 5 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 7 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 8 Feb 7.30pm

Post Show Talk. Free with a ticket for this evening’s performance.

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 9 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 10 Feb 2.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 10 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 11 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 12 Feb 2.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 12 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 14 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 15 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 16 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 17 Feb 2.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 17 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 18 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 19 Feb 2.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 19 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 21 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 22 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 23 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 24 Feb 2.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 24 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 25 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 26 Feb 2.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 26 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Mon 28 Feb 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Tue 1 Mar 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Wed 2 Mar 7.30pm

This performance will be BSL Interpreted.

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 3 Mar 2.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Thu 3 Mar 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Fri 4 Mar 7.30pm

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 5 Mar 2.30pm

-

Limited Availability Book Now

Sat 5 Mar 7.30pm