The Cane

by Mark Ravenhill

The Cane Top / Details / The Company
Thu 06 Dec - Sat 26 Jan 2019 / From £12 Book Now

“It will be the biggest send off any teacher has ever had. No teacher is as loved”

After 45 years as a dedicated teacher, Edward is looking forward to the imminent celebration to mark his retirement.

But his home is under siege. A mob of angry students have gathered. A brick has been thrown through the window, he and his wife haven’t left the house for six days, and now his estranged daughter has arrived with her own questions.

“Why would they attack the most popular teacher in the school?”


Mark Ravenhill
’s previous work for the Royal Court includes Over There (& Schaubühne, Berlin), Shoot/Get Treasure/Repeat and Shopping and Fucking.

Royal Court Artistic Director Vicky Featherstone directs.

Jerwood Theatre Downstairs

Mon – Sat: 7.30pm (except 12 Dec 7pm)
Thu & Sat mats: 2.30pm (from 15 Dec)

Captioned: Tue 8 Jan & Fri 18 Jan 7.30pm
Audio Described: Sat 19 Jan 2.30pm (Touch tour 1pm)
Relaxed Performance: Mon 14 Jan 7.30pm

Running time: TBC

Ways to Save

General ticket information

Trigger warnings for productions

Age Guidance: 14+

The Company

Close

Choose a date

- Concessions First look Preview Press Night Matinee Captioned Audio-described Show all

From £12.00 Book Now

Thu 6 Dec 7.30pm

-

From £12.00 Book Now

Fri 7 Dec 7.30pm

-

From £12.00 Book Now

Sat 8 Dec 7.30pm

-

From £12.00 Monday

Mon 10 Dec 7.30pm

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Tue 11 Dec 7.30pm

-

Sold Out

Wed 12 Dec 7.00pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Thu 13 Dec 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Fri 14 Dec 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 15 Dec 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 15 Dec 7.30pm

From £12.00 Monday

Mon 17 Dec 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Tue 18 Dec 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Wed 19 Dec 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Thu 20 Dec 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Thu 20 Dec 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Fri 21 Dec 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 22 Dec 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Thu 27 Dec 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Fri 28 Dec 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 29 Dec 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 29 Dec 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Wed 2 Jan 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Thu 3 Jan 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Thu 3 Jan 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Fri 4 Jan 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 5 Jan 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 5 Jan 7.30pm

From £12.00 Monday

Mon 7 Jan 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Tue 8 Jan 7.30pm

This performance is accessible for deaf, deafened and hard of hearing people

From £14.00 Book Now

Wed 9 Jan 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Thu 10 Jan 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Thu 10 Jan 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Fri 11 Jan 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 12 Jan 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 12 Jan 7.30pm

From £12.00 Monday

Mon 14 Jan 7.30pm

This performance is suitable for people who will benefit from a more relaxed performance environment.

From £14.00 Book Now

Tue 15 Jan 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Wed 16 Jan 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Thu 17 Jan 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Thu 17 Jan 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Fri 18 Jan 7.30pm

This performance is accessible for deaf, deafened and hard of hearing people

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 19 Jan 2.30pm

This performance is accessible for blind or partially sighted customers. The touch tour will be at 1pm.

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 19 Jan 7.30pm

From £12.00 Monday

Mon 21 Jan 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Tue 22 Jan 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Wed 23 Jan 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Thu 24 Jan 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Thu 24 Jan 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Fri 25 Jan 7.30pm

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 26 Jan 2.30pm

This is a matinee performance and will start at 2:30pm

-

From £14.00 Book Now

Sat 26 Jan 7.30pm